African dream

It seems nobody can capture your true essence

That you are an illusion is a fascination

What keeps us awake is not the delusion

But rather desparately trying to catch you

You laugh, we never learn

Day after day it is like I’m trying to understand you

Make sense of you

Realise you

Make you

It is not the illusion that keeps me awake at night

Rather the fascination

Trying to capture you

Trying to understand you

Who am I as a young child?

When many men have tried but dismally failed

Maybe one day you may answer me

Maybe one day you will grant my wishes

Maybe one day you will look with favour upon me

And see the child you once gave birth to

Lost in translation

Maybe then you will make me understand.

Leave a Reply

