bliss

I

Imagined this future

in

drips and

              

               drabs

In

tiny torn fabrics

Weaved by thought

Backed by conciousness

I

Imagined this future

And

Slowly

but

surely

it came

Poverty

Poverty is not new to us.

Those who have tasted it.

Those who have sacrifised land and limb

Poverty is not new to us

Poverty is not new to those who know

How to run chasing the railway

Believing that this is the only way

Poverty is not new to those who know

Poverty is the daily life

The daily bread for dark skin

As if a curse for being burnt

By the sun in its daily life

Poverty is a sin

That one must pay

Ever so dearly

The rising cost

Poverty is not new to me

Dare you not show me

Feeding children from malnutrition

Else tell me to change the situation

Our hearts no longer bleed for it’s nothing new

The struggle is what we know

Perhaps it is all we will know

Poverty and nothing new

Even as the oppressor tries

Shows me news of Mexican children

Feeding on empty, dirty bins

I feel no worries

For poverty is something I already know